United Nations Security Council


The Security Council is the UN’s most powerful body and has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security. It has 15 Members (5 permanent with right to veto and 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly), and each Member has one vote. Under the Charter, all Member States are obligated to comply with Council decisions.

The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security.

Lista de países

  • Federación de Rusia
  • Reino Unido de Gran Bretaña e Irlanda del Norte
  • Estados Unidos de América
  • Alemania (2020)
  • Bélgica (2020)
  • Libia
  • Indonesia (2020)
  • México
  • China
  • Perú (2019)
  • Polonia (2019)
  • República Dominicana (2020)
  • Sudáfrica (2020)
  • Francia


A: The threat to International Security caused by technology.

B: Situation in Libya.

Committee authorities

  • President: Pamela Gasque Herrera
  • Moderator: Carlos Rosado Arteaga
  • Conference officer: Thamara Tenorio López